## **Department of Mathematics: An Overview**

By the blessings of God and the hard work of some devoted personalities, the Department of Mathematics started from the 17th September, 1959 in the presence of Dr. Puran Singh who was the head at that time, after the origin of science faculty in the year 1956. The teaching at that time was centered to only three faces, Dr. Puran Singh, Dr. V. N. Mishra, and Dr. J. B. Shukla. All of them were devoted to upgrade the department. Dr. R.B. Mishra was one of the faculty members in the year 1962. Later he left the college and went to Allahabad University. Everybody knows the name of Dr. R.B. Mishra in the field of differential manifolds and tensor calculus. In the past days the teaching reputation of the college was well known even was famous for its science faculty specially mathematics. The Department is contributing its major role in the success of college.

After many efforts and along wait the permission of post graduate classes in M.Sc. (mathematics) under self finance scheme has been permitted from the session 2022-23 under the headship of Prof. Rajiva Dixit who provided extraordinary efforts in this regards for the betterment of the institution and the Department. In this regard the result first batch of post graduate students will occur in future expected in June 24. Post graduate classes in BSNV has been welcome by the society and students. In both session year the seats in M.Sc. (mathematics) was full and a long queue has already been created.

Because the teaching standard and quality of college is well known not only in the city but also in the state, so the student give higher preference to be admitted in our college as compared to other colleges either in B.Sc.(P.C.M.)or in B.Sc.(P.M.G.) group. The first result of B.Sc. final year came in 1961. In this year our college obtained the maximum number of first divisions in University among all concerned Degree Colleges.

The Department of Mathematics is well equipped with latest technologies such as internet consisting of computer and other peripherals. The Department also has one own established library consisting of nearly thousand books including some journals. Also the college centralized library includes nearly 5000 books of mathematics and is regularly acquiring new standard books for the use of teachers, students and research scholars. Recently the Department has got equipped with smart class room still the efforts are being made to establish these as studentfriendly.

A fairly large number of student of the Department have qualified the prestigious competitive examinations like JRF, NET, GATE, SCRA, PCS and IAS etc. Some of them have been awarded summer fellowship of different Govt. agencies like DST, NBHM. In the recent past, some students are also being facilitated to the research project and they are being supervised as co-guide also. Ph. D. thesis of Supriya Yadav and Nirmal Srivastava has been awarded under the supervision of Prof. Deepak Kumar Srivastava (Co-supervision with Prof. R. R. Yadav, department of mathematics, University of Lucknow). In the year 2011 and 2013 department of Mathematics had successfully conducted the UGC sponsored National symposium and seminar respectively on various techniques in fluid dynamics (NSAVTFD) during February 10-12, 2011 and role of mathematics in the advancement of science and technology (

NCRMAST-2013 sponsored by DST, government of India and CSIR New Delhi October 18-20, 2013). The proceeding of both conferences was published (ISBN no. 9788192132303) by the department of Mathematics. I gracefully quote here that the award of superior degree of Doctor of Science (D.Sc.) in mathematics to faculty member Prof. Deepak Kumar Srivastava from University of Lucknow, Lucknow is not only the achievement of the department but also to the college. Prof. Deepak Kumar Srivastava was also indulged in the successful execution of major research projects of UGC in the Department. The Department is actively engaged in conducting various programs in a number of areas the present National Conference on rule of mathematics in advancement of Science and technology is associated with newly constructed and national science network which promotes the activities occurring in the department through their web portal .Vigyan Parishad the publication of research Journal in Science named "Anusandhan" in Hindi is being continuously published since 2012 from the Department.

The Department is actively engaged in conducting various programs in a number of areas. The one of the outcome is present National Symposium. An association called National Science Network (NSN) is the joint formation of all Science fellows. The present symposium has been offered by NSN to promote the activities occurring in Department of Mathematics through their portal and other networking services.

In each academic year the Department organizing lectures, seminars, symposia, oral presentation, essay writing, quiz and various debates on well known mathematicians since the establishment of the department. The department was blessed by the services of esteemed mathematicians like Prof. J. B. Shukla (I.I.T., Kanpur), Prof. S. K. Dubey (I.I.T., Delhi), Prof. R. B. Mishra (Ex.Vice Chancellor Dr. R.M.L. Avadh Univ. Faizabad), Prof. S. C. Rastogi, Dr. I. D. Sharma (President All India Rovers Association and one of the judges of 1982 Asian Games), Dr. K. C. Mishra left the department due to selection in reputed provincial services (Dy. Sp.), (Late) Dr. R. K. Srivastava, Dr I. D. Sharma, Shri M. K. Pandey, Shri M. M.Mishra (Former H.O.D.), Dr. P. K. Singh, Dr. Rajendra Prasad Yadav(at present working as a Professor in Lucknow University), Dr. Puran Singh (Founder Manager of Pioneer Degree Colleges and various other institutions). All of them have given their valuable services to the Department and time to time their discussions to uplift the Department show their love to the Institution even after they left to the other places. Many of them won national and international awards for their contribution in the areas such Oceanography, Differential Geometry, Modeling etc.

This is really the pleasure to the Department that everyone has contributed to the academic society either by writing books, making completion of projects, or other academic activities. Many books written by the teachers of Department are treated as reference books to many Institutions, Degree Colleges and Universities.

The present symposium is the outcome of valuable suggestions and time to time discussions amongst the faculty members and their valuable services including affection towards the academic environment in the Department. Faculty of the Department of Mathematics at present is

- 1. Dr. Kaushal Kumar Bajpai (Professor)
- 2. Dr. Jai Pratap Singh (Professor)
- 3. Dr. Rajiva Dixit (Professor)
- 4. Dr. D. K. Srivastava (Professor and Head)
- 5. Dr. Amit Kumar Gupta (Asst. Prof.)
- 6. Dr. Neha Mathur (Asst. Prof.)
- 7. Dr. Saloni Agrawal (Asst. Prof.)
- 8. Dr. Ashwani Kumar Srivastava (Asst. Prof.)
- 9. Dr. Shrawan Kumar (Asst. Prof.)

At last but not least the journey which we started will definitely come to those heights which any one wants, with the continuous efforts of the members of our Department.